The Voice of Reason: It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

With apologies to George Wyle and Andy Williams, it is the most wonderful time of the year!

I know, I know, it’s not the holiday season. BUT, bear with me now, for avid sports fans, you cannot beat this time of year!

This is the sports version of The Perfect Storm. At different times of the year, you get sick to death of the sport “in season.” I love baseball as much as the next guy, but at around game 90, I start to get a little meh. The same thing happens during basketball season, and ditto with hockey.

This time of year has a little something for everyone. You have football for the masses, hockey for those “hosers” who like the ice, baseball playoffs for those lucky enough to withstand the torture of 162 games, and NBA training camps are starting up.

You literally have a sports smorgasbord! Take your pick. If you can’t find a sport to suit you, then maybe golf, cycling, or fall track and field are your cup of tea.

As for me, it makes my “sports dingus” go nuts. When I can’t watch something live, I DVR it and watch it later. Otherwise, I wear out the PIP feature on my television.

This early in the season, we’ve already been treated to some fantastic collegiate games, and some that were, well, not so worthy. In the NFL, we have seen so much parity that if you would have told me that both Green Bay and New Orleans would be 1-2 after three weeks, I’d not believe you.

Enjoy this time, because it won’t last long. Before you know it, we’ll be griping about our favorite teams not doing well, and by then, it WILL be the traditionally recognized “Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” when it begins anew with the NFL playoffs, college bowl games, and NBA and NHL seasons in full swing.


Ronnie Garcia is the voice of reason at The Scoop. Follow him on Twitter at @CapnDD.

Leave a Reply

