Baseball Fan Rules

NY Post
NY Post

I have been going to baseball games since 1985. As a fan, I have noticed over the years that there are many unwritten rules that are not being followed by spectators.

As of today, they are unwritten no longer! I am going to lay down the law.

Orange County Register
Orange County Register

1. You cannot wear a jersey for a player that is no longer on your team unless said player is retired. Example: Texas Rangers fans still showing up at games wearing Josh Hamilton jerseys. I don’t care if you still like the guy, but he’s on another team and thus the enemy.

2. If you are a grown man, don’t bring a glove to the game. You have hands. Use them. Plus, it impresses the ladies more when you barehand catch a ball.

MLB.tv
MLB.tv

3. Attention all grown-ups: If you catch a foul ball give it to the nearest kid. Trust me, they will value it way more than you ever will.

4. Unless you are at Wrigley Field, stop throwing visiting home run balls back. That’s a Cubs tradition. Plus, it’s just plain stupid.

5. Do I really have to tell you not to do the wave?

AP Photo/Winslow Townson
AP Photo/Winslow Townson

6. This is actually a written rule: You don’t have to remove your cap during God Bless America. That’s only done during our National Anthem and the playing of Taps. I only say this because I have had fans get mad at me for not doing so.

7. If you have to go to the bathroom, let a friend hold on to your drink. With all the nastiness that floats in the air, do you really want to bring your beer into the restroom?

sleeping man8. Ladies, we are there to watch the game. Please stop telling stories about what happened at work yesterday. Guys, if your woman wants to tell stories that don’t pertain to the game all game long, then you need a new woman.

9. Unless you’re a writer covering the game or live-tweeting it, stay off your phone. Do you love the thrill of possibly being hit by a foul ball? Plus, do you really need to take 20 photos of the field every time you go to a game? I usually take 1 or 2 just to make my friends jealous.

The Big Lead

10. I don’t know why I have to tell you this, but sit in the seat that is on your ticket. I hate showing up (even before the game starts) and someone is in my seat. It’s just rude.

If you have any more to add, or just want to complain, shoot me a message on Twitter @JamesHollandTX.

Until next time, I’ll see you in the cheap seats!


James Holland is a Sports Contributor at The Scoop. Follow him on Twitter at @JamesHollandTX.

 

Leave a Reply

